Back to School » Back to School Camps

Back to School Camps

 
 
 
 
Sandia Prep Back to School Camps will take place Thursday, August 15 - Friday, August 16.
 
If the camp that your student will be attending requires a permission or acknowledgment form, you may bring a signed copy to the front office, or you may scan and email it to the class sponsor listed below:
 
6th grade - Lucy Kozikowski (lkozikowski@sandiaprep.org) and Maris Daugherty (mdaugherty@sandiaprep.org)
7th grade - Noel Huitt (nhuitt@sandiaprep.org) and Scott Crago (scrago@sandiaprep.org)
8th grade - Joelle Shaw (jshaw@sandiaprep.org)
9th grade - Scott Jeffries (sjeffries@sandiaprep.org)
10th grade - Shanna Croney (scroney@sandiaprep.org)
11th grade - Stacy Moses (smoses@sandiaprep.org)
12th grade - Debi Kierst (dkierst@sandiaprep.org)
 
If your child has any food allergies, please make sure to alert the appropriate grade level sponsor and your child's advisor. 
 
 
 

6th Grade Camp - Camp Shaver

The entire 6th-grade class will travel to the Jemez Mountains where we will be staying at YMCA Camp Shaver for two days and one night of fun, adventure, and community building. Please review the below documents and sign and submit the release form to the Sandia Prep Front Office.

 

 
 
 

7th Grade Camp - 

The 7th-grade advisors are excited to offer a wonderful camping experience this year at Ghost Ranch in Abiquiu, New Mexico.

 
 
 

8th Grade Camp - Glorieta

The 8th-grade advisors are excited to offer a great retreat experience at Glorieta Camp located in the Sangre de Cristo Mountains near Glorieta, New Mexico. Please review the below documents and sign and submit the Acknowledgement form to the Sandia Prep Front Office.

 
 
 

9th Grade Camp - Cottonwood Gulch

On Thursday, August 16, students will leave for Cottonwood Gulch near Thoreau, New Mexico. They will, hike, relax, and participate in a variety of planned activities; including a bonfire. All students should remember to bring extra water. Students will sleep in cabins and all meals will be prepared in the camp’s dining lodge. Additional details will be discussed in your advisory once school begins.

 
 
 

10th Grade Camp - Hummingbird

 

On Thursday, August 16, students will leave for Hummingbird Ranch in Jemez Springs. They will, hike, relax, and participate in a variety of planned activities. All students should remember to bring extra water. Students will sleep in cabins and all meals will be prepared in the camp’s dining lodge. Additional details will be discussed in your advisory once school begins.

 
 
  

11th Grade Camp - Los Rios River Runners

 

Thursday, August 16 will be a day of community service (details will be forthcoming.) Students will spend Friday, August 17 rafting with the Los Rios River Runners in Taos. Students will depart from Prep at 10:00 a.m. and return at 6:30 p.m. Please review the below documents and sign and submit the release form to the Sandia Prep Front Office. For more information on the Taos Box day trips visit http://www.losriosriverrunners.com.

 
 
  

12th Grade Camp - Manzano Mountain Retreat

On Thursday, August 16, seniors will leave for Manzano Mountain Retreat for a one-night stay. Manzano Mountain has very nice cabins and wonderful facilities including a large swimming pool, a recreation room with ping pong and foosball, a gym with a basketball court, and a large field to play various games. Food is provided by Manzano Mountain Retreat.